University Senate


The University Senate is Tulane's senior internal governance body. It consists of elected faculty representatives from the academic divisions, senior administrators, student and staff representatives, and at-large members elected from a slate nominated by the Senate Committee on Committees. The Senate is chaired by the President of the University. Its purview consists of all matters of general University concern, especially those which affect at least two academic divisions.

The Senate normally meets during spring and fall semesters on the first working Monday of each month except January, with extra meetings in April and/or May if necessary.


View Calendar for Meeting Dates